The Universe, the World, Mother Nature, and every living organism down to the smallest atom particle are all made of energy — We are made of energy. To understand chakras, we need to first understand this one simple fact. Everything is made of energy, functions using energy, and emits energy. The human body is made up of millions of different cells that work together to perform various functions to keep us alive. All of these cells emit energy in different ways, and different cells will emit different kinds of energy depending on where they are located within the body and what they do. It is no wonder that these systems create channels of energy at key points within the body. These various energy channels are the residences of our chakras.

What is a Chakra?

Chakras are centers of energy at key points in the body. The word chakra originates from Sanskrit, meaning “wheel”. The name correlates directly with their function as a vortex of spinning energy that interacts with various physiological and neurological systems in the body. Chakra energy spins in a clockwise direction as it moves the energy of our body out into the world around us, and counterclockwise to pull energy from our external environment into our body. It is the frequency state of our chakras that determines the direction our energy will flow as they either draw energy into our body or release it outward.

These swirling wheels of energy correspond to massive nerve centers in the body that help to regulate all its processes, from organ function to the immune system and emotions. Each of the seven main chakras contain bundles of nerves, major organs, and correspond with our psychological, emotional, and spiritual states of being. The seven chakras are positioned throughout your body, spanning from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. Each chakra has its own vibrational frequency, represented by its color,  related elements of nature (essential oils, essences, crystals, etc.) and governs specific functions that help maintain the body’s function and create optimal health. Since everything is in motion, it’s essential that our chakras stay open, aligned, healthy and fluid. If there is a blockage, energy cannot flow.

How Does a Chakra Work?

A chakra may be a spinning wheel or vortex, but chakras themselves are not physical. They are aspects of consciousness, and they interact with the physical and energetic body through two major avenues, the endocrine system and the nervous system. Each of the chakras is matched with one of the nine endocrine glands, along with a particular group of nerves, called a plexus. This means that each chakra is associated with primary functions of the body controlled by the particular plexus and endocrine gland, this is fundamental in understanding their role in maintaining the health of the body and the effectiveness of the chakra healing methods.

The chakras not only represent particular areas of the physical body, but also key parts of your consciousness. Your consciousness, how you perceive reality, encapsulates all of your senses, perceptions, and possible states of awareness. These states can be divided into seven categories, each of which resonates with a specific chakra. When we feel tension or a buildup of stress in a particular area of our consciousness, that thension radiates into the chakra. With increased exposure over time, that tension can present physical ailments associated with the plexus and endocrine glands associated with that specific chakra. This is why maintaining balance in our chakras is so important. The physical signs let us know that there in internal work that needs to be done. To maintain optimal physical health, we must also maintain optimal mental health.

What are the 7 Chakras?

The Chakras of Matter

First: The Root Chakra

The root chakra, called Muladhara: the “channel to power”, is the chakra of stability, security, and our basic needs. It encompasses the first three vertebrae, the bladder, and the colon. When this chakra is open, we feel safe and fearless. Allow the courage that you have within you to guide you to achieve all of your dreams.  Believe!

Second: The Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra, called Svadhisthana: “one’s own base”, is our creativity and sexual center. It is located above the pubic bone, below the navel, and is responsible for our creative expression. It allows you to fully embrace who you are and acknowledge your gifts. Allow yourself you believe in your own superpower, in all the amazing possibilities life has to offer.

Third: The Solar Plexus Chakra

The solar plexus chakra, called Manipura: the “City of Jewels”, is located in the area from the navel to the breastbone. It serves as our source of personal power. Feel who you are, your gifts and your brilliance. Reminding us to radiate our power from within. Have confidence, let your beauty shine from within, and tap into your inner knowing. Embrace your greatness.

The Connection Between Matter and Spirit

Fourth: The Heart Chakra

The fourth chakra, located at the heart center, is called Anahata: the “unhurt, unstruck, unbeaten.” The heart chakra is at the middle of the seven and unites the lower chakras of matter and the upper chakras of spirit. It is spiritual in nature, but serves as a bridge between our body, mind, emotions, and spirit. The heart chakra is our source of love and connection. It allows us to connect ourselves to the universe and recognize that we are part of something larger. Living your life from an energy of love and kindness. Everyday, finding something to be grateful for and be open for life to give you more gifts.

The Chakras of Spirit

Fifth: The Throat Chakra

The fifth chakra, called Vishuddha: the “purifier”, is located in the area of the throat. This is our source of verbal expression and the ability to speak our highest truth. This area includes the neck, thyroid and parathyroid glands, jaw, mouth, and tongue. Reminds us to speak our deepest truth and gratitude into our life. To be open and grateful for what we have in order to receive more of what the universe has in store.

Sixth: The Third Eye Chakra

The third eye chakra, called Ajna: the “commander”, is located in between the eyebrows. Ajna is our center of intuition. We all have a sense of intuition, the ability to see clear thoughts, to see beyond the mind. Allow yourself to see and feel what you want to achieve and live the life you dream of. It provides us with the inner belief of all the great possibilities in our lives. Turn your trials into triumphs, and believe that you are meant for greatness. It all starts from within.

Seventh: The Crown Chakra

The crown chakra, called Sahaswara: the “state of Nirvana”, represents the “thousand petal lotus” and is located at the top of the head. Allows us to connect to our higher self, to go within and truly become aligned with who we are, and connect with our souls. This is the state of enlightenment and spiritual connection to our higher selves, others, and ultimately, to the divine. Reaching Nirvana.

For more Information about the seven chakras and methods to embrace chakra healing techniques, check out some of our favorite references:

Balancing Your Energy Body: A Complete Guide to Chakra Healing: by Laura Berman, Ph.D.

Heal Yourself Now: The Best Healing Method For Each Chakra:  by Vicki Howie

What Is A Chakra? How To Balance Chakras For Beginners: by Katherine Hurst

Something is wrong.
Instagram token error.

Sign Up for Latest News & Promotions from VANA

Get Social



Copyright © 2017   All Rights Reserved  |  VANA Entities  |  Design & Brand Manager  |  Terms and Conditions  |  Privacy Policy